Behold... The Arctopus Skullgrid CD

Behold... The Arctopus Skullgrid CD

Sorry, this Product is out of stock.

Release Date: October 12, 2007

1. Skullgrid
2. Canada
3. Of Cursed Womb
4. You Are Number Six
5. Some Mist
6. Scepters
7. Transient Exuberance

The tech metal bar has been raised over and over again with the likes of ground breaking bands like Psyopus and The Dillinger Escape Plan coming from out of nowhere over the past decade. There is a whole new generation of young people with the ability to play their instruments like tech metal cyborgs since they have been spoon fed Necrophagist and Nile from the moment they hit middle school. It almost seems unnecessary for the creation of any of these new tech bands unless they can hurdle that ridiculously high bar. Behold...the Arctopus not only achieves that level, but sets it even higher and spices things up in a way that sets them at the pinnacle of not just the tech mountain, but keeps them at the summit of the prog, instrumental and ambient scenes as well.

Following their Black Market Activities debut, �Nano-Nucleonic Cyborg Summoning�, the instrumental power-trio has put a darker and more atmospheric spin on their sound with �Skullgrid�. Behold have extracted the grit, rawness and obscured beauty of old black, death and doom metal�inspired by bands like Ulver, Darkthrone, Enslaved, Morbid Angel, Death, Swans�with the structures and harmonies of the classical world�composers like Berio, Penderecki, Bartok, Shostakovitch, and Varese. They used the composing style from the classical world and constructed the record straight to paper, tabbing the songs out musically and then learning how to play them after the fact.

The result of the clash of these styles and influences ranging hundreds of years is astounding. There are also elements of more contemporary influences, like that of King Crimson, Watchtower, Naked City and the Mahavishnu Orchestra. Despite the mechanically perfect musicianship, the sounds have such an emotive air that paints clear pictures of various moods and landscapes. Tracks like �Canada� give a musical portrayal of a sweeping Nordic landscape, while �Scepters� conjures images of ruling thrones of darkness. �Transient Exuberance� captures fleeting moments of excitement, one after the other and �You are Number Six� showcases mental struggle and failed escape.

Metal Blade Records item #146502