Metal Blade Records

CD V #11111

V See Larger Images and Variations
Out of Stock
$14.99 each


Release Date: October 6, 2000

1. Prelude
2. Evolution (The Grand Design)
3. Fallen
4. Transcendence (Segue)
5. Communion And The Oracle
6. The Bird-Serpent War / Cataclysm
7. On The Breath Of Poseidon (Segue)
8. Egypt
9. The Death Of Balance / Lacrymosa
10. Absence Of Light
11. A Fool's Paradise
12. Rediscovery (Segue)
13. Rediscovery (Part II)

Michael Romeo formed Symphony X in New Jersey in 1994. The original lineup of the group also included Thomas Miller (bass guitar), Rod Tyler (vocals), Jason Rullo (drums), and Michael Pinnella (keyboards). They released their self-titled debut late that same year. The next year they put out the follow-up The Damnation Game. 1995 also saw Tyler leave the group, his replacement coming in the personage of Russell Allen. Their next release came out in 1997. It was the critically acclaimed The Divine Wings of Tragedy. In addition to the critical praise, this disc became the group's biggest commercial success yet. Before recording their next album, Jason Rullo left the band. He was replaced by Thomas Walling. With this lineup, the group released Twilight in Olympus. This release garnered both greater critical kudos and greater sales. In a unique turn of events, however, the band faced a new lineup change. Newcomer Walling and bassman Thomas Miller both decided that they were not up to touring for the album. The recently departed Rullo rethought his exodus and came back into the Symphony X fold. Andy DeLuca was brought in on bass for the duration of the tour. After the tour was over, the group found a permanent replacement in Mike LePond. This formation of the group released their fifth album in 2000 with V: The New Mythology Suite. - Gary Hill (All Music Guide)

Metal Blade Records item #143442

Other Things You Might Like

0 Check Out
Metal Blade Merch