Rivers Of Nihil

12" Monarchy (Electric Blue with Mustard Splatter Vinyl) #63463

Monarchy (Electric Blue with Mustard Splatter Vinyl) See Larger Images and Variations
Out of Stock
$22.99 each


Release Date: September 14, 2018

01. Heirless
02. Perpetual Growth Machine
03. Reign of Dreams
04. Sand Baptism
05. Ancestral, I
06. Dehydrate

07. Monarchy
08. Terrestria II: Thrive
09. Circles in the Sky
10. Suntold

Vinyl Features:
+ Electric Blue with Mustard Splatter Vinyl
+ Gatefold Jacket
+ Limited to 250 Copies

Rivers of Nihil began their musical journey in 2009, and recorded their first EP, "Hierarchy", with Carson Slovak. Six years and multiple tours later, the band returned to Slovak and Atrium Audio in Pennsylvania, after having recorded their previous effort "The Conscious Seed of Light" in 2012 with Erik Rutan at Mana Studios in Florida. Since the release of that album and signing with Metal Blade Records, Rivers of Nihil found themselves quickly climbing the global metal ranks on the strength of overwhelmingly positive reviews and tours with Death (DTA Tours), Obituary, Whitechapel, Dying Fetus, Black Crown Initiate, plus an appearance at the storied New England Metal and Hardcore Festival. During the album campaign, the band was joined by new drummer Alan Balamut and guitarist Jon Topore. Balamut and Topore join guitarist Brody Uttley, bassist Adam Biggs, and vocalist Jake Dieffenbach to form the up-and-coming force of modern death metal that is Rivers of Nihil.

Topping their full-length debut is no elementary task; Terrorizer Magazine declared that Rivers of Nihil "manage to do something unashamedly modern, and yet make death metal sound twisted and malevolent," while HeavyBlogisHeavy.com simple noted that it was "Definitely one of the best debuts to come out this year." Guitarist Brody Uttley cites recent personal hardships as a major factor in the creative process for "Monarchy". Uttley divulges that "I lost a few close friends. The loss of these people had a profound influence on the creation of the music for this record. I was having strong feelings of rage, sadness, hope, and frustration as a result. The songs turned out heavier, darker, sadder, and more frightening than I had ever hoped that they would." The mood of this album, and the song sequence, reflect these emotions. "Monarchy" begins with the most heavy and darkest tracks, and continues to develop more progressive leanings until the end when Uttley says "the emotional tension completely falls apart."

Metal Blade Records item #153838
Code: RON-Monarchy-2018

0 Check Out